Every time you start the Auto Import process in PokerTracker 3 all of the hand history files which are in the hand history folders are read.
If there are any files there which have previously been imported then PT3 will re-read them but the hands will be recognized as duplicates and will not be imported again.
If you allow a lot of old hand history files to build up then the process of reading and checking the old files can take quite a long time and cause delays in starting to import any new hands that you are currently playing, and therefore delay the appearance and updates of the HUD.
Note: If you are playing at a site on the MicroGaming network then the rest of this tutorial does not apply to you.
MicroGaming writes hand histories to a database file which suffers from the same problem, but the solution is different.
Please read the "Before Auto Importing" section of the MicroGaming Configuration Guide for what you need to do instead.
To avoid this situation you should leave the Move Processed Files To option in PT3 enabled.
This means that when Auto Import is stopped PT3 will move any files that it has read ("processed") to the configured folder.
By default this 'processed' folder is C:\Program Files\PokerTracker 3\Processed.
You can change which folder the files are moved to but it is very important that the 'processed' folder is completely separate from any folders which you auto import from.
If you configure PT3 to move files to a folder where they are imported from (including subfolders) then the files will be continually re-read and moved back to the same place and read again.
Do NOT configure 'move processed files to' to move the files to a subfolder of your hand history folder!
Do NOT configure Auto Import to import from the 'processed' folder!
Note: Most poker sites lock the hand history files while the table windows are open and this means they can't be moved so you may need to close all the tables before stopping auto import to allow the files to be moved.
Full Tilt locks the files while the application remains open so you need to close the whole Full Tilt application to allow the files to be moved before stopping Auto Import.