Running PT3 with remote PostGreSQL DB

PostgreSQL is the database server used to store information. Do you have a question or are you having problem with PostgreSQL? If so, post them here.

Moderator: Moderators

Running PT3 with remote PostGreSQL DB

Postby PietM » Fri Jan 25, 2008 11:53 am

I have a PostGreSQL DB on a remote (windows) machine. PT2 works perfectly fine with this setup. When I install PT3 Beta and try to run it I get an 'PokerTracker 3 cannot run without Postgresql'-error...
PietM
 
Posts: 15
Joined: Fri Jan 25, 2008 5:19 am

Re: Running PT3 with remote PostGreSQL DB

Postby Josh » Fri Jan 25, 2008 12:22 pm

If PT3 asks if you want it to install PostgreSQL, say "No." You should then be presented with a window that looks like this:

[imgvrw]http://www.pokertracker3.com/templates/products/PT3/docs/images/install_screen_4.png[/imgvrw]
Josh
Site Admin
 
Posts: 6222
Joined: Sat Dec 08, 2007 6:03 pm

Re: Running PT3 with remote PostGreSQL DB

Postby mattgoody » Fri Jan 25, 2008 2:23 pm

Ahh ok. You should allow this option for the non postgresql included download version imo.
mattgoody
 
Posts: 24
Joined: Thu Jan 24, 2008 7:41 pm

Re: Running PT3 with remote PostGreSQL DB

Postby Josh » Fri Jan 25, 2008 2:38 pm

It should open this window when you use the non PostgreSQL install.
Josh
Site Admin
 
Posts: 6222
Joined: Sat Dec 08, 2007 6:03 pm

Re: Running PT3 with remote PostGreSQL DB

Postby PietM » Fri Jan 25, 2008 3:02 pm

I never get to that window... I downloaded and installed PokerTracker 3 without PostgreSQL. Installation went fine, but when I execute PT3 I get the following errormessage

[imgkd1]http://img233.imageshack.us/img233/3/pt3zy8.jpg[/imgkd1]

I installed the same setupfile on my other computer (where my Postgresql is running as a service) and I can run Pt3 fine there.

I can run PT2 on both machine without any problems.
PietM
 
Posts: 15
Joined: Fri Jan 25, 2008 5:19 am

Re: Running PT3 with remote PostGreSQL DB

Postby PietM » Fri Jan 25, 2008 3:21 pm

If I copy&paste the settings from the working computer it doesn't work either. Looks like PT3 is doing a is-postgresql-installed-check somewhere....
PietM
 
Posts: 15
Joined: Fri Jan 25, 2008 5:19 am

Re: Running PT3 with remote PostGreSQL DB

Postby APerfect10 » Fri Jan 25, 2008 4:13 pm

[quote="PietM"gel]If I copy&paste the settings from the working computer it doesn't work either. Looks like PT3 is doing a is-postgresql-installed-check somewhere....[/quotegel]

We are working to resolve this issue. In the mean time, you can install PostgreSQL on your local machine and then point PT3 to your remote database. That should work until we are able to get this fixed (in hopefully the next beta).

Best regards,

Derek
APerfect10
Site Admin
 
Posts: 4414
Joined: Sat Dec 08, 2007 6:03 pm


Return to PostgreSQL [Read Only]

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest

cron
highfalutin