Tutorial: Configuring HUD Options

Frequently Asked Questions/Answers, Tutorials, and Common How To's

Moderator: Moderators

Tutorial: Configuring HUD Options

Postby WhiteRider » Mon May 11, 2009 1:20 pm

Configuring HUD Options

In this tutorial :-


To configure the HUD options open the HUD Configuration window either from the PT-icon on a table or via the main PT3 menu: Configure > Configure HUD, and click the HUD Options tab.

main view.png
WhiteRider
Moderator
 
Posts: 53446
Joined: Sat Jan 19, 2008 7:06 pm
Location: UK

Configuring HUD Databases

Postby WhiteRider » Mon May 11, 2009 2:05 pm

Configuring HUD Databases

By default the HUD will use whichever databases are configured to be auto imported into.

See the Auto Import tab :-
The attachment AutoImport Databases.png is no longer available

Should you want to use other databases in the HUD you can configure them here.
Any databases you select here will be used generate the stats shown in the HUD - for instance you may wish to show stats from your played hands database and from the current and last 2 months observed hands databases you might configure the Read From Databases section like this:

Read From Databases.png
Read From Databases.png (4.97 KiB) Viewed 36036 times

If you uncheck all the databases then those configured to be Auto Imported into will again be used.

The databases configured here are also used in TableTracker.
WhiteRider
Moderator
 
Posts: 53446
Joined: Sat Jan 19, 2008 7:06 pm
Location: UK

HUD Filters

Postby WhiteRider » Wed May 13, 2009 9:07 am

HUD Filters

The Filters section allows you to control which hands the stats will be taken from.

Filters.png
Filters.png (7.73 KiB) Viewed 36024 times

Minimum Hands Required
    Statistics will not be shown for a player until there are this many hands available after other filters have been applied.

    • For instance, if a new player (call him "A") joins your table who you have not played before then A's stats will not appear until they have played 5 hands (given the above settings).

      If you are at a full ring table with 7 players and you play 20 hands against player A then their stats will show 20 hands played.
      If another player leaves so that there are now 6 players at the table this will move the table into another Player Range (see below); now because all the hands that player A has played in your database were from a 7-handed table you don't have any stats on him from the 3-6 player range and his stats will disappear until he has played 5 hands with 6 players active, then his stats will show again starting from 5 hands.

Stats From Current Cash Limit Only
    If this option is enabled then only hands from the current cash limit [of the relevant table] will be used to generate the stats. (separate on each table)

    • Let's say you have 100 hands on player B from $1/$2 NL and 400 hands on him from $2/$4.

      If you disable this option then whatever table you see player B at, he will be shown with 500 hands and his stats will reflect all 500 hands.
      If you enable this option and see player B at a $1/$2 NL table he will be shown with 100 hands and his stats will reflect only those 100 hands. At a $2/$4 NL table he will be shown with 400 hands.
      With this option enabled; if you see player B at any other tables (different limits or sizes) then his stats won't be shown [initially] because you don't have any hands on him at that type of table. This includes $2/$4 limit tables (if the hands you have on him are NL) and "6 max" tables (if the hands you have on him are from ring tables), as well as any other limits.

Stats From Current Tournament Blind Level Only
    In a similar way to the 'Stats from current cash limit only' filter above, the only hands which will be used to generate a player's stats are those he played previously (and which are stored in your database) at the blind limit you are currently playing. (separate on each table)

    • Let's say you play a 4-player SNG; each blind level is 10 hands long. Your opponents are:
      - player C, who was in the last one of these tournaments you played and got to heads up with you (several levels deep in the tourney).
      - player D, who was also in the last tournament, but went out part way through level 2 (14 hands into the tourney).
      - player E, who you have never seen before.
      You have the 'Stats from current tournament blind level only' option enabled.
      When the first hand is played and imported you will see stats for players C and D (who you played before). Both will show 11 hands because they played 10 in the last tourney and 1 here at the current blind level. You will not see stats for player E until you have played 5 hands ('Minimum Hands Required').
      When the tournament reaches level 2 and you have played the first hand the stats from the hands played at level 1 (in this tournament and the last one) are no longer used; so player C will show with 11 hands (10 from the last tournament and 1 from this). Player D will show 5 hands - 4 from level 2 of the last tournament and 1 from this. Player E's stats won't show because they have less than 5 hands at level 2.
      If all players survive to level 3, only Player C will show stats for the first few hands of the level - the other 2 players' stats won't appear until 5 hands in.

Retrieve Session Stats for Tool Tips
    Enabling this option will cause the tooltip shown when you mouse-over a stat in the HUD to include information about the current session.
    If you disable it, then only overall stats will be shown.
tooltip session.png
tooltip session.png (1.92 KiB) Viewed 35935 times


Stats from the last X hands
    If you set this option to anything other than zero, then only the stats for this number of hands will be shown - based on the most recent hands. If you set it to zero then stats for all hands will be shown.

    • Note: This option prevents the cache being used so can lead to slower performance.

Player Ranges
    Player Ranges limit which hands are used to generate HUD statistics, depending on the number of players at the current table.
    If the number of players at the current table falls within a certain Player Range then only hands played when there were a similar number of players involved (based on the active Player Range) will be used.

    • For instance, if you have a Player Range defined as 4 - 6, then whenever you are at a table with 4, 5, or 6 players stats will be generated from those hands each player played when there were 4, 5, or 6 players involved. Any hands a player played which had more than 6 or less than 4 players involved are ignored.
    • You can have as many or few Player Ranges as you like, and these can cover whichever numbers of players you like. If the table you are at has a number of players not covered by a Player Range then all hands will be used to generate stats.
      The Player Ranges I use are shown above:
      2 - 2
      3 - 4
      5 - 6
      7 - 10
      You may choose to have 3 - 3 and 4 - 6 ranges instead, for instance, but I don't play many short-handed tables.
    • If you are at a table with players who aren't yet in your database, and play 10 hands when there are 7 players - in the 7-10 Player Range - the stats will show 10 hands.
      If one player leaves (so it drops to 6-handed) then this moves us into the 5-6 Player Range. Because none of the players at the table have played any previous hands in this range then everyone's stats will reset to 1 (for the first hand played 6-handed) so won't be shown due to the Minimum Hands requirement (of 5).
    To change the Player Ranges use the Add, Edit and Delete buttons.
WhiteRider
Moderator
 
Posts: 53446
Joined: Sat Jan 19, 2008 7:06 pm
Location: UK

Refresh Rates

Postby WhiteRider » Thu May 14, 2009 4:46 pm

Refresh Rates

Refresh Rates define how frequently each player's statistics update, based on the number of hands they have played.
The more hands you have on a player, the less their stats will change with each new hand imported, so the less often they need to be updated in the HUD.

Refresh Rates.png
Refresh Rates.png (4.15 KiB) Viewed 36106 times

Here, when you have between 0 and 25 hands on a player their stats will update after every hand.
Once they have played more than 25 hands their stats will update every fifth hand.

You can have as many or few Refresh Rates as you like - to change them use the Add, Edit and Delete buttons.
You need to make sure the first range starts from zero and that there are no gaps between any of the ranges, otherwise their stats will never update.
WhiteRider
Moderator
 
Posts: 53446
Joined: Sat Jan 19, 2008 7:06 pm
Location: UK

Displaying Mucked Cards

Postby WhiteRider » Sat May 16, 2009 7:11 am

Displaying Mucked Cards

If a hand goes to showdown then the board cards and any known hole cards can be shown on the table. This includes mucked cards which are included in the hand history files, even if those cards weren't shown at the table.

table mucked cards.png

Note: Not all sites write mucked card information in the hand histories, so this doesn't work for all sites.

To enable the display of mucked cards you enable the Display option, and define how long you want them to be shown for with the Show for ... seconds option and how solid or clear they are with the Translucency slider.

Mucked Cards.png
Mucked Cards.png (3.41 KiB) Viewed 36073 times
WhiteRider
Moderator
 
Posts: 53446
Joined: Sat Jan 19, 2008 7:06 pm
Location: UK

Note Editor translucency

Postby WhiteRider » Sat May 16, 2009 7:41 am

Note Editor translucency

You can add notes to players directly from the HUD.
Tip! For information on configuring this see the tutorial about Special Stats - New Line, Horizontal Line, Note Editor.

To define how solid or clear the Note Editor window is use the Translucency slider.

Notes.png
Notes.png (1.84 KiB) Viewed 35956 times
WhiteRider
Moderator
 
Posts: 53446
Joined: Sat Jan 19, 2008 7:06 pm
Location: UK

Performance Options

Postby WhiteRider » Sat May 16, 2009 7:54 am

Performance Options

The Performance Options section is a legacy option which has now been removed. If you still have it enabled (if your HUD is always solid even when you change the translucency setting, for instance) you can turn it off on the Settings Window.
Attachments
Performance Options.png
Performance Options.png (2.97 KiB) Viewed 36079 times
WhiteRider
Moderator
 
Posts: 53446
Joined: Sat Jan 19, 2008 7:06 pm
Location: UK


Return to FAQs, Tutorials, and How To's [Read Only]

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest

cron