Page 1 of 1

Running PT4 and HM2 at the same time

PostPosted: Fri Sep 18, 2020 5:47 am
by jalcon11
Hi guys.

I´ve had HM2 for some years now and I just bought PT4.
I´d like to run just HM2 while playing online but I would like to keep both databases (HM2 and PT4) up to date so that I can study with both programs as I please with all the data available to me.
Is there any way for the two programs to keep updating their databases with the newly played hands or do I have to import the HM2 database to PT4 manually each time I want to use it??

Re: Running PT4 and HM2 at the same time

PostPosted: Fri Sep 18, 2020 6:26 am
by Flag_Hippo
All original hands/summaries that are auto-imported by Holdem Manager 2 get moved to C:\HM2Archive by default. The archive should be organized by \HM2Archive\SiteName\YYYY\DD\MM so after a session you can manually import the relevant hands into PokerTracker 4 using 'Play Poker -> Get Hands From Disk' to update your database with the most recent hands.

Re: Running PT4 and HM2 at the same time

PostPosted: Fri Sep 18, 2020 3:54 pm
by jalcon11
All right. But that way, I have to do it manually every single time. Isn´t there any way to tell the programme to do it automatically?
I have tried choosing tha HM2 folder you say as the reference folder for PT4 (instead of the folder where PS sends the hand histories) but it doesnt work.

Re: Running PT4 and HM2 at the same time

PostPosted: Sat Sep 19, 2020 4:22 am
by WhiteRider
That should be able to work, although using Get Hands While Playing for bulk imports isn't ideal.
You would need to configure each site in PT4 to import from the correct site archive folder, using Configure > Sites & Import Options.
You will also need to configure PT4 to 'Move Processed Files To' (Configure > Sites & Import Options > Preferences) so that the new files are read and then moved somewhere else - if you leave all of the files in the HM2 archive then it will quickly start to take a very long time for PT4 to read all of the old files every time, just to find the few new ones.
If you set it up like that and wait for HM2 to finish archiving the files before you run Get Hands While Playing in PT4 then it should work OK.